Sometimes, you may find the need to restore your iPhone to original factory settings when it starts hanging or when the screen goes black. It may be due to use of pirated apps on your mobiles which allows viruses and other harmful apps to damage your mobile performance.
Below are the steps which you can follow if you want to restore your iPhone manually:
- Recognise the Need to Restore: See, if you really need to restore your iPhone as it will delete all the data from your mobile including pictures, contacts, messages and videos.
- Connect to PC: Connect your iPhone to your PC via USB. Plug in USB cable and Apple iTunes will launch automatically. When connected, your device will under the head ‘Devices’ on the left-side panel of iTunes.
- BackUp your Device: Back Up your device data on PC via iTunes. When ‘Automatically Sync When this Phone is Connected’ option is selected, your iTunes will start backing up your device as soon as your device is connected to PC. Any new content added to your phone will automatically be backed up on iTunes. However, if ‘Automatically Sync’ option is not selected, you can sync your device manually by clicking on ‘Sync’ button under the summary tab in iTunes.
- Restore: Go to information page of your device where you will see two buttons ‘Check for Update’ and ‘Restore’. Click on Restore button to start restoring. A dialog box will appear warning you about the deletion of all data if you go through with restore process. You will have the option to restore your contacts, calendar, text messages and other settings, if you have already synced your device. On clicking the ‘Restore’ process, restoring process will start. Don’t disconnect your phone as it will disrupt the restoring process.
- Restoring Process: A dialog box will appear notifying you about the progress of restore process. Several other messages will also appear during the iPhone restore process. Don’t disconnect your phone.
- Completion of Restoring Process: When the process completes, a dialog box will appear with a message ‘Your iPhone has been restored to factory settings and is restarting. Please leave your iPhone connected. It will appear in the iTunes window after it restarts.’ Click on Ok and your phone will restart.
- Restarting Phone: When the phone restarts, it will prompt you about its connection to iTunes. A new message will appear for activation of phone and in a few minutes, you phone will be activated.
More iPhone tips: How To Jailbreak iOS 6 – A Step by Step Guide
However, you can also restore your device without connecting to iTunes. Follow the following steps:
- Tap on the Menu button.
- Tap on Settings.
- Tap on General Tab.
- Find the Reset option and Tap on it.
- You can choose the things which you can reset or you can go through with ‘Erase All Content And Settings’ option.
- Confirm it by tapping on ‘Yes.’
- It will take few minutes before your phone restarts and you can start afresh with your iPhone.
Let us know if those iPhone 5 restore tips are helpful!
More info at Apple’s support site